2002-08-11 - 7:03 p.m.
A very busy week. (funeral, travel)

hosted by DiaryLand.com

I lot has happened in the last week or so. First off, Glenna's funeral was on Tuesday. There were so many people there. It was really sad and hard to be there, but one nice thing that was done was that her family had gone through a number of photographs and chose a bunch and a power point presentation was displayed during the ceremony. After the ceremony, there was a big get together out at Glenn and Debi's house where they played her urn. The internment site there is just beautiful. It is up on the rocks, and overlooks the lake back behind the cabin. Unfortunately, I wasn't there for the internment. Glenna's remains were split into four seperate urns, at her request, one for her mother, one for her father, one for her sister, and one for Steve. Glenn, Karen, and Melanie all got sundial urns to put in their gardens. They are beautiful. Steve's is a base with a glass type sculpture on top of it with etched dolphins in it, also beautiful. Sheri-Ann, Norma, and I went out to Glenn's when I got off work, which was late, and there were still a number of people out there. I don't know if I am handling Glenna's death better now or not. I have dreamt about her last night, also on Thursday evening. I'm not sure if this is me dealing with the stress of the recent weeks, or if it is something more. When I get back to Yellowknife I should ask Steve if I can borrow Glenna's dream book and read up on it. Also, before the funeral, Debi asked me if I would write a short biography of Glenna to be put into the (what is the official name) program for her funeral. I did, but it was very hard. There was so much I could say, but how. Maybe I should turn it into a story someday soon. Glenna's family was happy with what I wrote, and it was nice to hear from her mom, Debi, and Glenn that it was written well. I think I could have done better if I had a bit more time to write it, but then maybe it would have been overdone.

Work was busy, busy, this past week as well. I have been filling in for Jo-Ann, the traffic person, at CJCD. Good thing I kind of know that job. The station was in the middle of a computer upgrade, which makes things interesting. Al from digi-link was up in Yellokwnife helping setting things up, and the poor guy was working for hours on end. But, the new system is up. There is a board in the control room again, and the new system is fairly user friendly. There are a lot of great features that the old system didn't have - such as being able to control the fades during voice-tracking hours. It gives the station a better overall sound. The troubel was -- as with every new upgrade and system, there were a number of little quirks to be worked out and all sorts of minor problems kept sparking up. So, it was a busy week. I did like the challenge though. The downfall is, I did absolutely nothing on my webpage this past week, so it still looks very very very very very very rough! Maybe I will have time to work on that later.

Friday after work, I quickly ran home and threw some change of clothes into the car, then left Yellowknife to drive to Edmonton for Jen's going away thing (see Steve's website for Jen's countdown to lawschool). I left Yk at about 7pm, driving. A section of the new highway is now open near Yellowknife, but not yet paved. After that you are on the real crappy old road, which actually wasn't that bad as it had been plowed recently. It still is far to narrow in my opinion. The good news is a bunch of the new highway is open north of Rae-Edzo. The problem with new smooth highway is - speeding of course! So there I was, cruising along at 120ish, when a police car was going the other direction. Looking in my mirror I saw them turn around and turn their lights on. So, I slowed down and stopped. Two very good looking police officers came over to my car. I already had the licence and registration out. The police officer at my window seemed surprised; so I said, "I saw you turn around then looked at my spedometer." He said he was only going to give me a warning as I was so honest. Hey, I was speeding -- if you're going to to the crime, expect to do the time! Anyway, I was very happy about this. He handed me my licence and registration back and walked back to his truck - I thought! I threw the folder into my glove box, and was saying to my self, but unfortunately outloud "those were hot, hot cops." That's when I realized he was standing beside my open window with my registration still in his hand. OOPS! Talk about embarassing.

Back to the travels. I got to the ferry around 10:30, but had to wait about 20 minutes for the ferry. I got to the border around midnight, then to High Level at about 2:30. It was raining most of the way, and I was quite tired so I stopped in HighLevel and got a room at my favorite "cockroach hotel", better known as the Family Inn (only 35 dollars a night). I set up a wakeup call for 6:30, which I got but ignored. At 8:30 I left High Level. I drove through High Prairie, Kinuso, Swan Hills, Westlock, then finally into Edmonton. I got here at about 4-ish. THis is supposed to be an 18 hour drive. I think I was speeding. Well, I know I was speeding a time or two. I went directly to Hawrelak park where everybody was, but they were pretty much done there. We came back to Steve and James' place before going to see SIGNS, the new Mel Gibson film at Silver City in West-Ed Mall. It was a pretty ok movie. After that we went to the casion in the mall where I broke even playing the auction game. We did kill a couple of hours there. Afterwards we went for supper at Moxies on Calgary Trail south, then rented Not Another Teen Movie and Zoolander. Both movies which I had seen, so I went to sleep (on an air mattress on the kitchen floor).

I woke up this morning at 8:40, and promptly woke everyone else up, at which time we wathed the end of Zoolander and then Not Another Teen Movie, because everyone else went to sleep not long after I did. After that, we went for breakfast at Denny's on the west end. Steve and I then drove Jen to Mayerthorpe to drop her off at their grandma's house where her mom was so they could drive back to Valleyview. Jen is going to the bible camp she works at every summer for a week, then she is flying to Toronto to go to law school. On the way back, Steve and I stopped at Wabamum beach and walked down the dock. Then we went and drove by the power plant. Dawn and Curtis went shopping when we went to Mayerthorpe, James hung out at home.

Everyone is back here at Steve's now. I think we are going out for supper.

previous - next - newest entry - older entries - home - Sign Guestbook - View Guestbook