2003-07-24 - 11:23 a.m.
People I Dislike, without reason

hosted by DiaryLand.com

Update: 4:45pm
So we just had another flaky client in today (see below for the first client issue of the day). This woman rewrote my script, the stupid one with all the "man"s in it that I wrote the other day, and finally worked into making some sense, anyway... Renn produced it, doing exactly what she asked... the commercial made no sense. Commercial copywriting would be the best job on the planet if it weren't for the dumbass clients. Anyway, Janet spent almost half an hour with her on the phone explaining to her very politely that her spot sucked... and we quickly built a demo showing how good a commercial can be.... needless to say the crack-head will be back in tomorrow to revoice her commercial.
Disclaimer: I don't believe that the aforementioned woman is really on crack-cocaine, so if she should sue me for defamation of character, I would just like to point out you have to have character first... hahaha... what I really mean in this disclaimer is "crack-head" and "she's on crack" are just expressions which in no way mean the person they are pointed at is using any illicit substances -- just that they are very stupid! Oops... this disclaimer isn't working very well, so I should just shut up now.

Have you ever met someone you don't like instantly, and for no apparent reason? I have met one of those people today. She is a client come in to voice a commercial. In fact, she is in their right now with poor Tyler, and for some reason I just don't like her. I can't give any reason, its not like she even said anything to me, it is all just negative feelings. Its my gut telling me I don't like her. She could be a perfectly nice person, but something inside of me tells me stay away. I wonder why that is.
It is so very rare that I don't like people, sure they annoy me (and I mean about 99 percent of the world's population about 57 percent of the time - haha) but usually I can find something I like about them, and to actually dislike someone, that happens few and far between. Like that friend of Jen's in Edmonton, who for some reason I just didn't like from the beginning, there was no reason to dislike her, I just did. I was nice to her for Jen's sake, but what was funny was how Adrienne didn't much like her either.
All this leads to... people should have dogs or kids. Dogs and kids are excellent instinctive judges of character. Yes, a child will try to please an abusive parent, and yes a dog will lick the hand of an abusive master; however, put either in a normal loving type environment and you can trust their judge of character 100 percent. A kid will turn surly and clingy if they don't like a person... a dog will growl. Either way... keep away if they do.
Anyway, rumor has it this chick has been hired by us to come in and do commercials or voice tracking or something -- which is fine.... I'm gone in three weeks anyway, otherwise I might never right a commercial for a female voice again! HAHAHA.

previous - next - newest entry - older entries - home - Sign Guestbook - View Guestbook